The Holy Grail everyday black kajal – Lakmé Eyeconic Kajal

If anyone asks what is the one thing which I have been using for longest time from makeup, you may guess lipstick but sadly no, it is kajal. I’ve been smudging my eyes black long before the flood of kajals from every other brand. The initial one was the total natural charcoal which came in a small round box, and we would apply with match stick (it is funny now), which would definitely smudge a lot, smokey look for free yo. The breakthrough in my kajal routine came with Hashmi kajal, which I found during my first (all by myself, work travel!) to Delhi. I bought two twist up Hashmi Kajal sticks for 25 rs each. It was brilliant, did not smudge and stayed on for good 3-4 hours intact.  Soon the two Hashmi kajal I had got over and I couldn’t find them in Hyderabad anywhere, and no one was there in Delhi to buy and ship to me.

The next better thing I got hold was Streetwear pencil liner, which worked better than box kajal but not as good as Hashmi. I continued using it until the famous Mayeblline Colossal was launched, 2010 I think. It was a breakthrough in Indian makeup market and was immediate hit, and still is, just that I have found something better or best.

lakme-eyconic-kajal-black-white

Later that year Lakmé launched Eyconic range(which had only black kajal and mascara initially), and I tried it with no more expectations than Colossal. Which is when I realized how better it is, and until we try new things we would never know what we are missing 😉

This post is not a comparison post of the many kajal available in India(just one note though Lakme eyeconic is must more intense and applies darker than Mayebelline Colossal ). I’m going to let you all know why eyeconic is my holy grail everyday kajal.

lakme-eyconic-kajal-black-white-0

The first best thing about eyconic is that it does what it claims, no smudge, 10 hours and all that (note that I have dry skin and I apply kajal on lower lash line). I use it everyday in work week, it is smooth, comes in retractable pen form, easy to apply and stays on for 9-5 plus two hours more of traveling to office 😀 It is waterproof, and face-wash proof too, I use olive oil to remove it. My yearly consumption is 4~ eyeconic kajals 😀

lakme-eyconic-kajal-black-white-2

The white variant from same line is not much liked by me, first it has shimmer, tiny glitters which is not what I wanted. Next it is too creamy, if I apply on lash line it interfere with lashes and due to too creamy texture get on lashes, and the color payoff is not as intense as black. Other than that, the staying power of white is pretty amazing.

Here is my look with Lakmé Eyeconic.

lakme-eyconic-kajal-black-white-look

Lakmé Eyeconic Kajal Black is easily available at 200 rs while the color variants including white will cost 250 rs.

Which is your everyday HG kajal?

Zaina

Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

 

2 thoughts on “The Holy Grail everyday black kajal – Lakmé Eyeconic Kajal

  1. This is my HG kajal too..can’t get enough of it..though the blue and green colors are not as smooth as black and grey variant.. I agree with you this is more intense and stay longer than colossal and need fewer swipes too 🙂
    And your EOTD is super awesome and neat 🙂

    Like

    • I heard not so good things about other colors, for blue i trust Revlon Colorstay, best so far. Which is your favorite blue/green liner?
      Ah thanks, I prefer pencil liners only, for neat application.

      Like

Leave a Reply

